Blog single

Round 4 Race Report



Sunday 7th August and Raceway(formally Wanneroo Raceway)was the setting for the fourth round of the AGV Helmets Australia WA State Road Racing Championships. The day started off wet but, despite the forecast of showers for most of the day, by 10.00am the rain was gone,and the remainder of the day was run in sunny but cool conditions.

For this round the Historic Club Golden Era boys came to play sponsored by Retro Moto Co and they put on some excellent racing across the entire field. Josh Mathers (JSM Construction Yamaha FZR1000) made it a clean sweep of the three races. Leigh Boujos (Gary McIntyre Honda RC30) took out three second places and Tony Hynes (Gelorup Motorcycle Repairs Suzuki GSXR750) scored two fourth and a third place for third overall. Sammy LloydCox(4ward Fabrications Honda CBR 250RR MC) was the best of the ‘Golden Era Lites with two wins and a third place.It was the man who finished in second place in each race that caught my eye. Leigh Boujos hasn’t raced motorcycles for three years but jumped at the chance to get aboard Gary McIntyre’s immaculate Honda RC30. He did approximately 10 laps the previous Saturday at the MCRC Tuning Day and elected to race the round. He may not have won any of the three races but he made sure Mathers knew he was there.

In the Frenken Group B Grade Series it was Bronson Pickett (OTR Tyres Yamaha R1) who continued on his merry way with his fourth straight win in the series. Second on the day was Jake Wilson(Heart of Gold Dance Company Yamaha R1) with Paul Joshua(Dave the 125 Wizard Yamaha R6) filling the minor podium place. After four rounds Pickett has a perfect score of 100 points

The Dynapumps Superbike Championship saw an all meeting battle between the Stronach brothers at the pointy end of the field. In the end it was the younger of the pair Cameron Stronach (Motorcycle Assist Yamaha R1) who prevailed winning two of the three races and coming second in the third race. Older brother Ben Stronach (Road2Race Yamaha R1) had a win in the third race after twice finishing as runnerup to his brother. Adam Senior (Hydroquip Yamaha R1) was third in each race. With two rounds remaining the championship is still up for grabs with Ben Stronach leading with 285 points, second is Cameron Stronach with 231 and third is Adam Senior on 220 points. Jake Wilson took out the best placed Superbike C Grade.

The Cullys Yamaha Supersport Championship and it was Bronson Pickett (K.E.B. Truck Parking Yamaha R6) who took his third clean sweep out of four rounds in a masterclass performance. Paul Joshua (SJS Moto Yamaha R6) scored three second places with Lachlan Hickey (Discount Tyres Maddington Kawasaki ZX6) and Lino Mazzali (JHPM Yamaha R6) sharing the minor podium places. William Wasley (JB Racing Team Yamaha R6) was the best of the ‘C’ Grade class.Pickett leads the championship with 290 points, second is Hickey with 243 and Joshua is third on 204 points.

In the GoMoto Store Production Championship saw the top two in the championship going head to head all day long. With Jordan White (Speedfit Canningvale Kawasaki Ninja 400) taking three hard fought wins. Second was Jayden Martin (GoMoto Store Yamaha R3) with three strong second places with Kobi Treversh (JB Racing Kawasaki Ninja 300) taking third place for the meeting, the first time he has been on the podium since moving up to the Production Championship from the Juniors. Martin leads the championship with 265 points just four points ahead of White on 261 with Calvin Moylan (West Metal Recycling Yamaha R3) in third spot on 191 points.
The Rick Gill Motorcycles Clubman Series saw likeable Irishman Jason Keenehan (ZX10R) win the round with wins in the first two races and a sixth place in the third. Colm Keene (GoMoto Store Kawasaki ZX10R was second with Martin Monahan (Underxs Panel & Paint Kawasaki ZX10R) took three third places for third outright. Keith Alexander (Errigal Construction Honda CBR600RR) topped the 600cc category with two wins and a second place.
Next two rounds see the Clubman class become the Stars of Tomorrow open to all C,D and novice riders who have not won a round of Clubman previously.
The Sidecar Championship saw a field of only five outfits greet the starter following the late withdrawal of multi state champion Murray Stronach having suffered a broken ankle prior to the meeting. The racing saw Graeme Evans and standin passenger Dillan McDermott (RHR ZX10R0 win the day despite having to finish the second race stuck in third gear after a linkage broke. The duo put together two wins and a second to win the round. Second were the pairing of Des Harvey/Steve Marshall (Aceman ZX10R) with two seconds and a win, with the Marshall brothers(PDA Caravan Repairs Suzuki GSXR1000) took the minor podium place. Ant Metcalf/Sean Fegan (Focus on Colour Kawasaki CWR ZX6R) took the honours in the F2 class. Sam Watson/ Eamon Hegarty returned to the series after missing rounds 2 and 3 but unfortunately had a few problems on the day, still gained some points and I am sure they will be back out at Round 5 ready to make their presence felt.Evans leads the Championship on 262 pts, Harvey/Marshall on 232, Metcalf /Fegan on 194 Marshall/ Marshall on 192.
Next is Round 5 down south at the Collie Circuit. Sunday 4th September is RidedaysWA Levels 1,2,3 at Wanneroo.
Photos and report courtesy Innesphotografix-JohnInnes