Blog single



Western Australia’s top road racers will be at Wanneroo Raceway on Sunday 29th August for the running of Round 4 AGV HELMETS AUSTRALIA WA State Road Racing Championships

The race day program will cater for Superbikes, Supersport, Production, Sidecars, Clubman, B-Grade Series and, for the second consecutive meeting, we will be joined by the boys from HCMC for the Golden Era class.

In the Triton Electrical Superbike Championship will see Sam Clarke (RS36/Rick Gill Suzuki GSXR1000) starting from pole position for the first race of this round, and judging by his performance in round three he will be hard to beat. Having said that any of the top five are more than capable of winning races or the round. His main opposition will come from Cameron Stronach (Motorcycle Movers Ducati Panigale), Ben Stronach (VRT Signs Yamaha R1), Adam Senior (HydroQuip Yamaha R1) and Ralph Mammoliti (TwoFour Motorsport Kawasaki ZX10).

In the C Grade Superbike class Rob Fannin leads on 201 points from Ray Kleyn 189and Anton Jones 134.Warren French took out 3rdoverall last round and could make a move on the front running C grader shaving only recently stepped up to Superbikes.

Overall SBK Championship Points tally: Ben Stronach 196,Cameron Stronach 168, Adam Senior 164, Rob Fannin 141, Raymond Kleyn 138, Josh Mathers 122, Anton Jones 94,Sean McHale 91, Ross Hudson 83 and 10thoverall Stephen Blount 82.

In the Cullys Yamaha Supersport Championship it is very hard to look past Tommy King (Keen Edge Construction Kawasaki ZX6), Bronson Pickett (Chain Reaction Motorcycles Yamaha R6), Lachlan Hickey (TwoFour Tiling Kawasaki ZX6) and Andrew Biffen (GoMoto Store Yamaha R6) to find a winner. King put in an outstanding effort for the final race of round three starting from rear of grid following his crash in race two and winning the race.

In the C Grade Supersport Championship Kris Vance leads on 181 pts from Jess Boujos 136, Scott Topping 121, A O’Callaghan 119, Ryan O’Callaghan 99(father & Son battling it out).

Overall SSPT Championship Points tally:B Pickett 187, T King 171, L Hickey 155, P Joshua 153, A Biffen 141, K Vance 115, A Parsons 114, S Topping 94, J Boujos 92, A O’Callaghan 80

The GoMoto Store Production Championship will once again be a battle of the ‘young guns’. Jordan White (DJ White Contracting Ninja 400), Jayden Martin (Aussie Moto Engineering Yamaha R3), William Wasley (Dovers Automotive Yamaha R3) and Ethan Thompson (JB Racing Ninja 300) are the front runners, all capable of winning races. Calvin Moylan (Major Luck Lottery Centre Yamaha R3) will undoubtably be better for the run in round three and Abbie Cameron (Ozsteel Design Yamaha R3) joins the field for the first time. Also running are three 125GP bikes with David Manson (TURN 1 Motorsports Honda RS125), Mark Laing-Hughes (Honda RS 125) and Tom Hatton (Tom Hatton Racing Honda RS125) doing their best to keep the ‘young guns’ honest.
Round 3 unfortunately did not carry points due to lack of numbers for a Championship, but should be good to go this round.

Current Production Championship Points tally: J White 118, J Martin 106, H Stewart 102, W Wasley 93, P Browne 92, E Thompson 59.

In the Professional Printers Sidecar Championship a field of eight runners have entered, so things are looking up for the class after not having enough entrants for championship status at Round3! A few outfits are missing this round, with the Nash/Shields combo out with a prior family engagement, and the outfit of Gary Cushnahan is still being repaired after the melee in the Basin at round two. Dillan McDermott will be joined by passenger Corey Blackmanand is keen to set a new lap record on the day. Missing from last round Graeme Evans/ Robert Dillon will be keen to increase their points tally–only 20 points off the leadersbut could find pressurefrom father-in-lawMurray Stronach and Steve Marshall combo. Returning tothe track after a long break away is young Sam Watson and passenger Eamon Hegarty, Veteran Mick Robbins/Karen Dore will be joined by Ollie Onesti/ Mat Young and brothers Morgan and Dion Marshal.

Current Sidecar Points Tally:D McDermott100pts, G Evans 80pts, Stronach 54, Watson 34, Onesti 32.

The Rick Gill Motorcycles Clubman Class has a strong entry of 17 starters. This round will see awards for both the 600cc and 1000cc categories within this class and always produces exciting racing! Warren French (GoMoto Store ZX10) is the one to look out for this round after taking 3 seconds last round, newcomer Steve Kelly is another to watch taking out 3rd overall last round followed by Chris Fitzgerald. In the 600 category Jason Keenehan will be one to watch as well as Aaron Simonsen and Josh Norman.

Also supporting this round is the City Discount Tyres B Grade series and Golden Era historic class.In the B Grade series Rob Fannin is leading the charge on 50 pts overall from Stephen Blount 48 (non starter rd 4 due to a spectacular dismount at top of the hill last round), Adam parsons is just 5 points behind but another non starter following an injury from the Collie HCMC event recently. Others to step up will be Lachlan Hickey sitting on 38 points from Paul Joshua 36, Ray Kleyn 34 and Sean McHale 32.

A number of Golden Era riders are missing from the grid this round due to a heavy schedule, but last round winner Josh Mathers (4Ward Fabrications FZR Yamaha) will be keen to repeat his wins, Sean O’NeilFZR 1000) Paul Joshua (GSX50)should be front runners but need to watch for RGV250 rider Richard Langdon who placed well at the last round.

Gates open at 7am, with practice/qualifying starting at 9am, and racing from 11am.
$20 entry for non MCRCWA members
$10 entry for MCRCWA members/concession
$30 entry for a car load
Children under 12 are free

Head into Cully’s Motorcycle Centre , Rick Gill Motorcycles and Retro Moto Co, to get your hands on a 2 for 1 voucher for Rounds 4 and 6 at Wanneroo Raceway!

Preview and Photos courtesy of John Innes.