Blog single


The weather was picture perfect for racing and, with a large crowd in attendance, the riders put on some excellent racing across all the classes. 
As is the custom the B Grade Series started the day’s proceedings and it almost qualified as the ‘longest race in history’, taking some 47 minutes from the start until it actually finished. With two restarts the event was finally won by Raymond Kleyn (Go Moto Store Kawasaki ZX-10). Second was Andrew Biffen (Go Moto Store Yamaha R6), with Joshua Mathers (4Ward Fabrications Kawasaki ZX-10) taking the minor podium place. Kleyn leads the series with 79 points 12 ahead of Paul Joshua on 67 and Lachlan Hickey on 63 points.
The Professional Printers Sidecar Championship saw championship leaders Dillan McDermott/Corey Blackman (Super Spray LCR Suzuki) continue on their winning way with another two wins in the chase for the title, as well as a win in the non-championship ‘Handicap’ race. Second in the two races was Graeme Evans/David Mercer (RHR Kawasaki) they finished third in the ‘Handicap. Dave Mercer stepped in last minute after an incident in practice left Evans minus his regular passenger. Andrew Davies/Sam Lloyd-Cox (Davies Electrics LCR Kawasaki) finished third in both championship races while Morgan Marshall/Dion Marshall (PDA Caravan Repairs RHR Suzuki) took the runner-up spot in the ‘Handicap’.
The Triton Electrical Superbike Championship saw Sam Clarke (RS36 & Rick Gill Motorcycles Suzuki GSXR-1000) take three strong wins for the round. The round wasn’t without some drama for Clarke with him all but destroying the bike with a massive crash during Saturday practice. Second was championship leader Ben Stronach (VRT Signs Yamaha R1) with three second places, and Adam Senior (Senior Engineering Yamaha R1) with three third places. The big loser from the round was Cameron Stronach (Motorcycle Movers Ducati Panigale) who crashed out of the meeting in the first race at Turn 5, suffering a broken collarbone in the process. As far as the championship goes Ben Stronach leads with 313 points, second is Senior with 270 points and third is Raymond Kleyn with 226. Kleyn also leads the Superbike ‘C Grade Series with 314 points. Defending champion Sam Clarke is fifth on 217 points going into the final round.
In the Cullys Yamaha Supersport Championship it was Tommy King (Keen Edge Construction Kawasaki ZX-6) who won the round with a second place in race 1, followed by two wins, to finish the day on 70 points. Bronson Pickett (M&B Rubbish Disposal Yamaha R6) took the win in the first race followed by two second places was second on the day with 65 points and Paul Joshua (Dave the Great 125Champ Yamaha R6) took out the minor podium place with two third and a fourth place and 53 points. In the race for the 2021 championship Pickett holds a slender lead on 317 points, second is King with 311 and third is Andrew Biffen on 243 points just one point ahead of Lachlan Hickey on 242 points. Chris Vance (DoolansHeavy Haulage Yamaha R6) has a comfortable lead in the Supersport C Grade Series with 307 points. Adrian O’Callaghan (Yamaha R6) is second on 252 points with Jessica Boujos (JB Racing Yamaha R6) third with 236 points. 
The GoMoto Store Production Championship saw Jayden Martin (Jekyl & Hyde Yamaha R3) take control of the day’s proceedings with some very smart riding and three strong wins. Second was Francesco Bietto (Yamaha R3) with a second and two third places. He was just a solitary point ahead of Jordan White (Go Moto Store Kawasaki Ninja 400) in third place with a second, third and fourth places. In the championship Martin and White are tied at the top of the championship with 238 apiece going into the final round at Wanneroo Raceway on the 7th November, with Patrick Browne holding onto a comfortable third place on 184 points.
The Senior Engineering Junior State Championship saw Bruce Oliver (YZF-R15) win the round with three solid wins. Second was Calvin Moylan (Yamaha YZF-R15) with two seconds and a fifth placing. Taking the final podium place was Jack Dowling (We Tow Yamaha YZF-R15). Some great racing from our Junior competitors.
The Rick Gill Motorcycles Clubman Series saw Jack Langley (Harrington Drilling Yamaha R1) and Steve Kelly (Motorcycle Masters Honda CBR1000) share the wins, with Langley winning the first and last races. Christopher Fitzgerald(Kawasaki ZX-10) with a fourth and two second places took the final podium place.
Next up for the Motor Cycle Racing Club of WA is a Tuning and Level 3 Ride Day on Saturday 23rd October, closely followed by the final round of the WA State Road Racing Championship on Sunday 7th November. Both events held at Wanneroo Raceway.
Photos and Report courtesy of John Innes