Blog single

Preview of the Final Round of 2023


In just under a week the cream of WA’s road racers will be at Raceway for the final Round of the 2023 ‘AGV Helmets Australia‘ State Road Racing Championships. There are good numbers across the classes and with all ‘Championships’ but one still live, there is sure to be some excellent racing from start to finish.

Starting with the Dynapumps Superbike Championship there are only three championship contenders left at this late stage of the year. Championship leader is Sam Clarke (RS36 Suzuki GSX-R 1000) he has been the man to beat all season and with a 58 point buffer over his nearest rival Cameron Stronach (Motorcycle Assist Yamaha R1) is in a very comfortable position with just three races left in the season.  The only other mathematical chance to snatch the title is Ben Stronach (Dynapumps Yamaha R1) who is sitting a further 9 points behind his brother. In reality things will have to  go horribly wrong for Clarke to not be crowned the Superbike Champion for 2023. Clarke has 292 points, Cameron Stronach has 234 and Ben Stronach has 225 points.

In the Cully’s YamahaSupersport Championship the situation is much the same as in the Superbikes with only three contenders left in the championship race. The championship leader is Lachlan Hickey (TwoFour Tiling Kawasaki ZX-6) sitting on 273 points. His nearest rival is Jordan White (GoMoto Store Yamaha R6) has 222 points with Josh Cook(CTR Yamaha R6) is third on 210 points. A rider who came of age during round four was William Wasley (JB Racing Yamaha R6) taking his first win in the class during the second race and repeating the feat in the final race. He could just throw a spanner into the title chase. Jayden Martin (Aussie Moto Engineering Kawasaki ZX-6) made his debut in the class at the last round and did very well taking overall third on the day. So it won’t be decided until the flag falls in the final race!

The GoMoto StoreProduction Championship has all the ingredients to keep the spectators hanging on the fence. Will the two young guns in Calvin Moylan (Hydro Pneumatics KTM RC 390) who leads the championship on 245 points and Ethan Thompson (Kawasaki Ninja 400) second with 221 points be able to hold off the ‘class’ veteran in Steve Martin (Martin Racing Team Kawasaki Ninja 400) who is sitting third in the title race with 206 points. Bruce Oliver (GoMoto Store Kawasaki Ninja 400) is the only other rider in championship contention in fourth place on 198 points.

In the VRTSidecar Championship there are four possible championship contenders. It had been five in the mix but Graeme Evans/Robert Dillon (RHR Kawasaki ZX-10) have withdrawn from the round due to work commitments. Sam Watson/Eamon Hegarty (Calmack Panel & Paint LCR Suzuki GSX-R1000) lead going into the final round with 214 points just nine points ahead of Des Harvey/Steve Marshall (Aceman/RHR Kawasaki ZX-10) who are sitting on 205 points. Currently in third place are Evans/Dillon on 189 points with the Marshall brothers, Morgan and Dion (PDA Caravan Repairs Suzuki 1000)  along with Ant Metcalf/Sean Fegan (Team Antics Kawasaki ZX-10) tied in equal fourth place on 182 points. Darren Nash (RHR Kawasaki ZX-10) will be making just his second appearance of the season this time with Gary Cushnahan in the chair and whilst they aren’t in contention they will surely make life hard for the four contenders.

In the 4Ward FabricationsJunior Road Racing Championship Calvin Moylan (Hydro Pneumatics Yamaha R15) now has an unassailable lead as his nearest rival Lauchy Williams will not be riding at this round as he is overseas for the Asia Talent Cup selection event in Sepang. Rossi McAdam (Australind Mechanics Yamaha R15) whilst he is not able to win the championship will take the fight right up to Moylan in the three races. Joel Jenzen (Streetwise Transport Yamaha R15) in all probability will move into third place, relegating Williams to fourth in the championship. Stevie Middlebrook (Trakdayz Yamaha R15) should round out the top five.

The Westwide Air Conditioning Services Clubman ‘Star of Tomorrow’ whilst not a State Championship attracted a lot of interest during round one of the two round series. Dain Hutton (On track Motorcycles Honda CBR 1000RR) took two wins and a second place to lead the series with 70 points. Close on his heels is Dan Hughes (Marc Cartier Race Tyres & Svcs Yamaha R7) with 65 points and Max Hill (iRIDEWA Racing Kawasaki ZX-10R) with 54 points rounds out the top three. Martin Monahan (OCC O’Connor Construction Kawasaki ZX-10R) sits in fourth place on 49 points and Connor Southern (All Aspects Landscaping Yamaha R6) rounds out the top five. Mathematically any of the top 17 riders could actually win the series!!