Blog single



Following on from the very successful ‘Wanneroo 300’ which was run in early March the Championship season got underway on the 3rd April with the running of Round 1 of the ‘AGV Helmets Australia’ WA State Road Racing Championships at Wanneroo Raceway. Despite the weather forecast which was less than favourable, after some very light drizzle during qualifying the remainder of the day was fine

The program opened with the running of the ‘Frenken Fencing‘ sponsored ‘B’ Grade Race. A field of 14 riders on the grid and it was Jake Wilson (Yamaha R1) who got the hole shot and led the field into Turn 1 followed by Paul Joshua (Dave the Great Manson Yamaha R6) Jack Langley (Harrington Drilling Yamaha R1) and Bronson Pickett (K.E.B. Truck Parking Yamaha R1). Langley who led for a time and Pickett were soon at the front with Wilson dropping back to third. Pickett took the win from Langley and Wilson. Joshua was the first 600cc machine home in sixth place.

The State Sidecar Championship saw 6 outfits greet the starter with four F1 & two F2 outfits making up the field. Graeme Evans/Robert Dillon (RHR Kawasaki ZX-10) was on pole and took full advantage for an all the way win. Second were Des Harvey/Steve Marshall (City’s Panel & Truck Repairs Kawasaki ZX-10) with the F2 out fit of Sam Watson/Eamon Hegarty (Calmack Panel & Paint 600) in third place following a 15 second penalty imposed on the outfit of Murray Stronach/Darryl McLeod (Suzuki GSXR1000). Race 2 looked to be going the same way until Evans/Dillon pulled off the circuit with a mechanical issue after just 2 laps. Harvey/Marshall took the win ahead of Stronach/McLeod with the Marshall brothers Morgan & Dion (PDA Caravan Repairs Suzuki GSXR1000) in third place. Watson/ Hegarty were fourth with Ant Metcalf/Sean Fegan (Focus on Colour Kawasaki ZX-6) fifth. Race 3 despite starting from rear of grid Evans/Dillon took the win with Harvey/Marshall second and Stronach/McLeod third. Watson/Hegarty were the first F2 outfit home. Harvey/Marshall lead the championship with 65 points second are Stronach/McLeod on 54 points and third outright are Watson/Hegarty on 52 points. They also lead the F2 class.

The ‘Dynapumps‘ Superbike Championship saw Ben Stronach (VRT Signs Yamaha R1) take three all the way wins from as many starts to lead the championship. He was never troubled in any of the races winning by just under a second in the first race and five seconds in each of the other races. He beat younger brother Cameron Stronach (Motorcycle Assist Yamaha R1) having his first race ride on the R1 after several years riding the Motorcycle Movers Ducati Panigale. The younger Stronach took three second places ahead of Adam Senior (Senior Engineering Yamaha R1) with three third places.Ben Stronach leads the championship with 75 points, second is Cameron Stronach with 60 points and third is Senior with54 points. Jack Langley (Harrington Drilling Yamaha R1) leads the ‘C’ Grade championship with a third and two wins in the class with 68 points just ahead of Sean McHale (Razor Racing GSXR) and Jake Wilson (YZF R1). All of the front runners were keen to get points on the board as Sam Clarke will be joining the field as soon as he recovers from off-season wrist surgery,and he is a proven front runner.

In the ‘Cully’s Yamaha Supersport’ Championship Lachlan Hickey (Two Four Motorsport Kawasaki ZX-6) took an all the way win in the first race. Second was Bronson Pickett (M&B Rubbish Disposal Yamaha R6) took second place after a race long battle with Paul Joshua(Dave the great Manson Yamaha R6). Lino Mazzali (JHPM Yamaha R6 was fourth with Joshua Cook (Yamaha R6) rounded out the top five. Race 2 saw the same top four riders but it was Pickett who led the field across the line followed by Hickey, Joshua and Mazzali and Leslie McGrath (Yamaha R6) rounded out the top five. Race 3 and Hickey and Pickett had a race long battle, on the final lap with Hickey in the lead Pickett passed him coming down the hill into the braking area, Hickey held the tighter line and in the race to the line got up to win by..1120 seconds with Pickett second and Joshua again a strong third, McGrath was fourth with Mazzali rounding out the top five. Hickey leads the championship with 70 points, Pickett is second on 65 with Joshua third on 54 points. Lino Mazzali leads the ‘C’ Grade Supersport Championship with 70 points.

In the ‘Go Moto Store‘ Production Championship Jordan White (GoMoto Store Kawasaki Ninja 400) Jayden Martin (Aussie Moto Engineering Yamaha R3) and Ethan Thompson (JB Racing Kawasaki Ninja 400) took control of all three races and put on some spectacular racing. White took the win in all three races. In Race 1 he had a comfortable win with second placed Martin some 9 seconds in arrears with Thompson a further half a second behind. In Race 2 it was the same finishing order but this time the gap from first to second was cut in half at 4.5 seconds. In the final race Martin was just 1 second in arrears with Thompson 3.5 seconds back in third place. White has a perfect 75 points to lead the Championship, Martin is second 0n 60 points with Thompson third on 54 points.

The Rick Gill Motorcycles‘ Clubman Class saw a full grid of riders,a positive start to the year with many newcomers producing great competition and two different riders winning races on the day – Patrick Forry (Kawasaki ZX-10) took the win in race 1 ahead of Tyron Van Der Merwe (BMW S1000RR) and Joe Bowers (Suzuki GSXR 1000). In race 2 it was the same three riders, but Van Der Merwe took the win ahead of Forry by just .100 seconds with Bowers again in third place. In the final race Forry took the win some 8.3 seconds ahead of Andy Eccles (Razor racing Honda CBR 1000RR) with Connor Southern (Honda CBR 1000RR) third 4.9 seconds further back. Forry leads the Series with 70 points, second is Van Der Merwe with 61 points and third is Corey Gugiatti with 51 points. Bryan McCormack leads the 600cc class with 45 points.

In the Senior Engineering Junior Road race Championship there were three stand out riders at the front of the field. Jayden Martin (Aussie Moto Engineering Yamaha R15), Calvin Moylan (Hydro-Pneumatics Yamaha R15) and Lenny Cowley (Motorcycle Assist Yamaha R15). These three riders dominated the days races with Martin winning all three races, Moylan took three second places and Cowley three thirds. In race 1 Cowley lowered the lap record of 1:19.2730 seconds held by Jack Dowling to a new record of1:17.9570 seconds on lap 5. There was some good racing right through the field with Joel Jenzen (Streetwise Transport Yamaha R15), Lauchy Williams (John Thompson Automotive Yamaha R15). Rossi McAdam (Australind Mechanical Yamaha R15) and Max Webb Honda CBR 150R) all battling hard. Martin leads the Championship with 70 points, second is Moylan with 60 points and third is Cowley with 54 points and the new lap record.

Round 2 will be held at Wanneroo Raceway on the 24th April. Following which we head to Collie Circuit on the June long weekend 4th and 5th.

Report courtesy John Innes