Blog single

2024 Round 3 Race Report


Sunday 2nd June saw the running of the third round of the AGV Helmets Australia WA State Road Racing Championships at Raceway.
The weather forecast was for rain and storms with up to 45mm of rain to fall, but the weather gods took pity on us and barely a drop fell during the entire day. Practice was run on a damp but drying track and by the time racing got underway the track was dry.

First race of the day was the Dynapumps Superbike Championship with Sam Clarke(RS36 Suzuki GSXR 1000) starting from pole position. He got a flier and was never headed over the 8 lap journey. It was left to
Ben Stronach(VRT Signs Yamaha R1), Adam Senior(Silkolene Yamaha R1) and Bronson Pickett(Aark Suspension Yamaha R1) to fight it out for the minor placings. Clarke took the wins in all three races and the minor placings were divided between the other three. Ben Stronach took two 2nd places with Bronson Pickett hot on his tail, Pickett managed to take a 2nd place in race 2 with Adam Senior also one of the front runners taking 4th overall.

Clarke won the round with 75 points and leads the championship with 150 points. Second for the round was Stronach with 58 points and he sits in second place in the championship with 141 points and Pickett was third for the round with 55 points and is fifth in the championship with 108 points. Senior holds down third place in the championship on 125 points with Jack Langley(Track Action Yamaha R1) fourth on 116 points. In the C Grade SBK Series Ross Hudson (IDB WA Yamaha R1) took the Round win ahead of Josh Cook and Reece Southern. C Grade Series points has Josh Cook on 157, Ross Hudson 153, Reece Southern 125, Sean McHale 103.

The GoMoto Store Production Championship saw two winners on the day with Rossi McAdam(Martin17Coaching Kawasaki Ninja 400) won the first race while Calvin Moylan (Westsliders Kawasaki Ninja 400) took the wins in races 2 and 3. Joel Jenzen(GHR Yamaha R3) and Lauchy Williams(Turn 1 Motorsports Yamaha R3) shared the remaining podium places. Moylan won the round with 67 points, McAdam was second with 61 points, Jenzen was third with 58 points and Williams was fourth with 53 points.

The four of them sit in the same order in the championship, Moylan has 137 points, McAdam is second on 124 points, Jenzen is third on 108 points and Williams rounds out the top four with 102 points.

Production Lites saw Krystal Biffen(GoMoto Store Kawasaki Ninja 300) as the round winner with 75 points (and a PB), whilst Lexie McAdam young (Australind Mobile Mechanics Kawasaki Ninja 300) leads the Series on 120 points. Martin Monohan sits on 118 points overall having taken 2nd overall on the day . Tahlia Lang holds 3rd in the Series on 106 points and took 3rd overall on the day. Kieran Hilditch took 5th overall and holds 5th in the Series on 60 pts.

The VRT Signs Sidecar Championship saw Darren Nash/Cooper Mapstone(Nashtec ZX- 10R) dominate the day with three wins and maximum 75 points. With three second places were Sam Watson/Eamon Hegarty(ETC Paving LCR GSX-R 1000) and 60 points with Murray Stronach/Darryl McLeod(Turnapart Engineering GSX-R 1000) with a third and two fourth places, third with 52 points.

Nash/Mapstone lead the championship with 170 points, second are Watson/Hegarty on 145 with Rob and Hamish Taylor third with 123 points. Tom Quaye/Joel Boborci on their F2 600 hold 4th overall for the Championship with Murray Stronach/D McLeod in 5th and Morgan Marshall/M McLeish in 6th after having an upside down day in race 3.

In the Cullys Yamaha Supersport Championship the day was dominated by Callum O'Brien(Road 2 Race Kawasaki ZX-6) with three dominant wins. Adam Senior(Kelly Transport Honda CBR 600RR), Jordan White(INVIEW TV Yamaha R6) Josh Cook(CMS Yamaha R6) and Calvin Moylan(Hydro-Pneumatics Kawasaki ZX-  6) shared the minor placings. O'Brien won the round with 75 points, second was Senior with 57 points, third was Cook on 55 points with Moylan fourth on 50 points. Will Wasley withdrew from Supersport on the day.

O'Brien leads the championship with 125 points, second is Senior on 121 points with Cook third 17 points, Jordan White 113, Calvin Moylan 110, Ryan Pietsch 88. C Grade SSPT Series (adjusted Rd 3 points) Cook is also the leading 'C' Grader on 150 points, Jordan White 142, Calvin Moylan 130, Ryan Pietsch 108, Les McGrath 94. For this round due to low numbers the Westwide Air

Conditioning Services Clubman 1000 and the SBK Imports Clubman 600 were combined. In the 600 division it was Martin Calley(Motorcycle Studio Kawasaki ZX-6R) who took the three wins ahead of Craig Eldridge(Yamaha R6) with three second places and Josh King(JK Mechanical Services Yamaha R6) in third place.

In the 1000 division Andrew Baker(Mintox Racing Suzuki GSX-R 1000) took top spot with 66 points from the three races. Second was Ryan Caldwell(EAC Systems Aus Ducati Panigale) with a win and two second places for 65 points, third was Warrick Johnson( The Cryogenics Group Suzuki GSX-R 1000) with 54 points and 4th was Wil Power(Track Action YZF) on 52 pts. For Round 4 we will see both Calley and Baker moved out of Clubman into their respective Championship classes.

Full results available on Natsoft. We now head into the winter break, with several riders heading to the Darwin Terra race meeting end of July. The next State Championship round will return to Wanneroo Raceway on August 18th.

Photos and report courtesy John Innes