Blog single

2024 Round 1 Race Report


Presented by the Motor Cycle Racing Club WA

Round 1 of the WA State Road Racing Championships was held at Raceway Wanneroo on Sunday 21st April under very warm conditions.

The ‘Dynapumps’ Superbike Championship got proceedings underway with Sam Clarke (RS 36 Suzuki GSXR 1000) on pole, having ‘unofficially’ lowered his existing lap record to 55.37 second in practice. When the lights went out Clarke went straight to the front, but it was to be short lived. Exiting the Basin, he suffered a massive crash which left him with a sore shoulder and back and a very beaten-up motorcycle. Full credit to Team RS 36 they managed to get the bike back together within an hour so Clarke could be on track for the remaining two races. Cameron Stronach (Motorcycle Assist Yamaha R1) inherited the lead for 7 corners before he crashed in exactly the same spot as Clarke, his bike suffered major damage and he rode his spare bike in the remaining two races. From the restart it was Ben Stronach (VRT Signs Yamaha R1) who took the win from Adam Senior (Cully’s Yamaha R1) with Jack Langley (Coxon Mechanical Services Yamaha R1) in third place. Bronson Pickett placing well – 4th and 5th in races 1 and 2 but DNS in the final race of the day. Clarke showed just how good a rider he is with wins in races 2 & 3 and getting into the 55 second laps.

Ben Stronach leads the championship on 65 points, second is Senior on 56 with Langley on 52 in third spot. Clarke is in fourth place on 50 points and Cameron Stronach is eleventh on 31. Josh Cook (Motorcycle Assist Yamaha R 1) placed 6th overall and was the top placed ‘C’ Grade rider. C Grade Superbike Series placings after round 1 – Josh Cook 70pts, Ross Hudson 65, Sean McHale 53 and Reece Southern 52 pts.
Current Lap Record: 0:55.6550 on 12/11/23 by Sam Clarke (Suzuki GSXR1000)

The ‘Cully’s Yamaha’ Supersport Championship saw two different race winners with Callum O’Brien (Road 2 Race Kawasaki ZX-6) winning the first two races before crashing out of first place in the third race allowing William Wasley to take the win. Defending class Champion Lachlan Hickey( Two Four Tiling Kawasaki ZX-6) took three second places with Adam Senior (Senior Engineering Honda CBR 600RR) third in race one and Uncle of Lachlan, Ralph Mammoliti (Two Four Motorsports Kawasaki ZX-6) filling the minor placings in the final two races.

Hickey leads the championship on 60 points, second is Mammoliti on 53 points with O’Brien third on 50 points and just one point behind is Adam Senior on 49pts, Cook 45, White 44. First placed in the ‘C’ Grade Supersport Series is Josh Cook (Motorcycle Assist Yamaha R6) with 63 points, Jordan White 62, Moylan 55 and ex Queenslander Justin Hart on 49, 5th Dan Hughes and tied for 6th & 7th is Dillan McDermott and Ryan Pietsch on 41 pts.
Current Lap Record is 0:58:1310 set by Callum O’Brien (Kawasaki ZX-R6)

The ‘Go Moto Store’ Production Championship saw three riders dominate the field, Calvin Moylan (Hydro-Pneumatics Ninja 400) took three wins but was pushed all the way by McAdam (Ninja 400) and William Wasley (Track Action WA Ninja 400). Wasley had two second and a third place with McAdam having a second and two third places. Ch’p Points Standing: Moylan 50 points, Wasley is tied for second on 38 with McAdam. Joel Jenzen sits on 34 with Lauchy Williams on 32. The girls claimed 6th to 8th place with and Lexie McAdam on 28, Emily O’Brien just one point down on 27, Stevie Middlebrook on 26 pts and newcomer Kieran Hilditch coming in 9th on 23pts. The third race ran insufficient laps to score points.

Production Lights: Lexie McAdam (Australind Mobile Mechanics Ninja 300) is leading the ‘Lites’ Series with 50 points. Kieran Hilditch on 40 and Tahlia Lang on 35 points tied with Martin Monohan, Connor Johnson rounded out the top 5 on 32 pts.
Current Lap Record is 1:05.6410 set on 13/11/22 by Jordan White (Kawa Ninja 400)

The ‘Westwide Air Conditioning Services’ Clubman 1000 saw Connor Southern (All Aspects Landscaping Yamaha R1 take three wins. Three riders shared the minor placings Colm Keane (Motorcycle Assist Yamaha R 1), Ryan Caldwell (Martin 17 Ducati Panigale V4R) and Josh Norman (BMW S1000RR). Southern came out on top for the day with 75 points, Keane is second on 56 points with Caldwell and Norman tied for third with 54 points. Paul Davies and William Power also tied on points for the day with 47 each.

Fastest lap for the round went to Connor Southern on 1:01.1060

The ‘SBK Imports’ Clubman 600 saw Robert Wheeler (Honda CBR 600RR) take a second and two wins to lead the Round on 70 points. Second with 65 points is Matthew Bevan (On Track Motorcycles Suzuki GSXR 600) with a win and two second places and third on 53 points is Martin Calley (Kawasaki ZX- 6) with a fourth and two third places. Newcomer Marco Predieri (Yamaha YZF) came in 4th overall on 48pts just ahead of Angelo Antoni (Honda CBR6RR) on 46 pts for the round.

Fastest Lap for the round was by Robert Wheeler (Honda CBR6) 1:01.6180 Race 2

The ‘VRT Signs Sidecar Championship Darren Nash/Cooper Mapstone (RHR Kawasaki ZX-10) took the round win with a second place and two wins. Second were Sam Watson/Eamon Hegarty (Calmack Panel & Paint LCR Suzuki 1000) with a win and two second places with Rob & son Hamish Taylor (Mills Drainage Suzuki 1000) in third place. Returning from the UK, Tom Quaye/Joel Boborci (Meon Valley Racing Suzuki 600) took fourth place. Murray Stronach and passenger Darryl McLeod still awaiting a motor to arrive from Qld found themselves on a borrowed bike from RHR / Graeme Evans keeping numbers up with Morgan Marshall / Matthew McLeish having to withdraw after practice with bike issues.

Article by John Innes.

Thanks to AGV Helmets and Pirelli Tyres for contingency Awards.

Full results available at Natsoft.

Round 2 will be held on 19th May at Collie Motorplex.